UEFA outlines rules for COVID-19 hit teams during Euro 2020

The Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) has published a new set of rules outlining protocols needed to be followed by COVID-19 hit teams during Euro 2020 football matches. The emergency rules are similar to those imposed by UEFA this season in its club competitions and Nations League. The 24-team tournament will be played in 11 cities across Europe with at least 25% of stadium capacity set to be allowed.

In the newly-published rules, matches will be played on schedule if each team has at least 13 players, including one goalkeeper, available for selection and provided that all players are eligible. “Any additional player called up to meet the minimum of 13 players requires that an equivalent number of quarantined players are definitively withdrawn from the 26 players list,” UEFA said.

Earlier, UEFA has allowed the 26-man squad for the Euro 2020 football matches, instead of the standard 23, “to mitigate the risks of teams facing a shortage of available players for certain matches due to possible positive COVID-19 test results and subsequent quarantine measures”. However, matchday squads will still be limited to 23 players, including three goalkeepers.

UEFA clarified that the current regulations that allow coaches to change their squads will effect  June 1 up until their first match in the case of “serious injury or illness” will include players who test positive for COVID-19 or who are declared as “close contacts” of a positive COVID-19 tested person. Additionally, a player that has been replaced on the player list will not later be allowed to return to the competition.

“If the match cannot be rescheduled, the UEFA Control, Ethics and Disciplinary Body (CEDB) will take a decision on the matter. The national association that is responsible for the match not taking place will be declared by the UEFA CEDB to have forfeited the match and will be considered to have lost the match 3-0,” the document added.

This ruling emulates the same protocols during the Nations League matches last year when Ukraine and Norway forfeited their games as 3-0 losses. Meanwhile, Teams hit by COVID-19 outbreak or with fewer than 13 players can have their games “rescheduled within the next 48 hours of the date of the relevant match” and possibly at a different venue.

The most glorious European Championship will take place from June 11 to July 11 in 2021 at the 11 confirmed hosts:  London, Munich, Rome, Baku, Saint Petersburg, Budapest, Bucharest, Amsterdam, Seville, Glasgow and Copenhagen. Wembley in England is set to stage seven matches, a round-of-16 match initially placed in Dublin and the final round of the tournament.

Exciting games and big wins as you visit 12BET where exclusive promotions await for you.

Visit 12BET login and join us to claim exclusive benefits and more