Spain announced 24-man squad for Euro 2020

Spain head coach Luis Enrique announced his 26-men squad for UEFA Euro 2020, with a surprising revelation as he left out veteran defender and captain Sergio Ramos after he played just seven games for Real Madrid this season due to injury. The Spain coach has selected only 24 players for the virus-hit European Championships, despite being allowed 26.

Aside from not calling Ramos – who won the last of his 180 caps in March this year but suffered an injury-plagued season that give him only 15 Spanish league appearances and only five games in all competitions in 2021 – the Barcelona legend Enrique has selected no one from his side, meaning there will no Real Madrid player for Spain squad for a major tournament for the first time in history.

“I’ve not included Ramos because he’s not been able to play much this season, especially since January he’s not been fit enough, and at times not even training with the group at his club,” Enrique said. “It wasn’t easy, but I called him last night and we had a difficult and tough conversation. I feel bad as he’s a player who has always been at the top level and has a future with the national team.”

Meanwhile, the 26-year-old Manchester City defender Aymeric Laporte was included after FIFA approved his switch from France to Spain earlier this month. There was also a surprise recall for Chelsea defender Cesar Azpilicueta, who won the last of his 25 caps in 2018, and Atletico midfielder Marcos Llorente was included as a full-back in the squad list.

Spain’s three group stage matches plus a last-16 fixture will be hosted by San Mamés stadium. Luis Enrique’s side had an injury-time goal from Rodrigo to draw 1-1 with Sweden in Stockholm and book their place at Euro 2020. Spain also won the competition in 1964 and the first nation to have won consecutive titles in 2008 and 2012. Here is Spain’s Euro 2020 26-men squad:

Goalkeepers: David de Gea (Manchester United), Unai Simon (Athletic Bilbao), Robert Sanchez (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Defenders: Jose Gaya (Valencia), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Pau Torres (Villarreal), Aymeric Laporte (Manchester City), Eric Garcia (Manchester City), Diego Llorente (Leeds United), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Marcos Llorente (Atletico Madrid)

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Rodri Hernandez (Manchester City), Pedri (Barcelona), Thiago Alcantara (Liverpool), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Fabian Ruiz (Napoli)

Forwards: Dani Olmo (Leipzig), Mikel Oyarzabal (Real Sociedad), Gerard Moreno (Villarreal), Alvaro Morata (Juventus), Ferran Torres (Manchester City), Adama Traore (Wolves), Pablo Sarabia (Paris Saint-Germain)

Exciting games and big wins as you visit 12BET where exclusive promotions await for you.

Visit 12BET login and join us to claim exclusive benefits and more.