Final dates and updated fixtures of the Euro 2020 play-offs and group stage

In a statement earlier this week, the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) has confirmed retaining all 12 host cities to stage Euro 2020 now due in 2021. The decision includes the dates for the play-offs and the schedule of the new fixture for next year’s event. Here are the final dates and updated fixtures by venue of the Euro 2020 play-offs and finals.


Play-off semi-finals (8 October)

Path A: Iceland vs Romania, Bulgaria vs Hungary

Path B: Bosnia and Herzegovina vs Northern Ireland, Slovakia vs Republic of Ireland

Path C: Scotland vs Israel, Norway vs Serbia

Path D: Georgia vs Belarus, North Macedonia vs Kosovo

Play-off finals (12 November)

Path A: Bulgaria/Hungary vs Iceland/Romania

Path B: Bosnia and Herzegovina/Northern Ireland vsSlovakia/Republic of Ireland

Path C: Norway/Serbia vs Scotland/Israel

Path D: Georgia/Belarus vs North Macedonia/Kosovo


Group A (Rome/Baku): Turkey, Italy (hosts), Wales, Switzerland

Group B (Copenhagen/St Petersburg): Denmark (hosts), Finland, Belgium, Russia (hosts)

Group C (Amsterdam/Bucharest): Netherlands (hosts), Ukraine, Austria, Play-off winner D or A

Group D (London/Glasgow): England (hosts), Croatia, Play-off winner C, Czech Republic

Group E (Bilbao/Dublin): Spain (hosts), Sweden, Poland, Play-off winner B

Group F (Munich/Budapest): Play-off winner A or D, Portugal, France, Germany (hosts)


11 June Group A: Turkey v Italy (Rome)

12 June Group A: Wales v Switzerland (Baku); Group B: Denmark v Finland (Copenhagen); Group B: Belgium v Russia (St Petersburg)

13 June Group D: England v Croatia (London); Group C: Austria v Play-off winner D or A (Bucharest); Group C: Netherlands v Ukraine (Amsterdam)

14 June Group D: Play-off winner C v Czech Republic (Glasgow); Group E: Poland v Play-off winner B (Dublin);Group E: Spain v Sweden (Bilbao)

15 June Group F: Play-off winner A or D v Portugal (Budapest); Group F: France v Germany (Munich)

16 June Group B: Finland v Russia (St Petersburg); Group A: Turkey v Wales (Baku); Group A: Italy v Switzerland (Rome)

17 June Group C: Ukraine v Play-off winner D or A (Bucharest); Group B: Denmark v Belgium (Copenhagen); Group C: Netherlands v Austria (Amsterdam)

18 June Group E: Sweden v Play-off winner B (Dublin); Group D: Croatia v Czech Republic (Glasgow); Group D: England v Play-off winner C (London)

19 June Group F: Play-off winner A or D v France (Budapest); Group F: Portugal v Germany (Munich); Group E: Spain v Poland (Bilbao)

20 June Group A: Italy v Wales (Rome); Group A: Switzerland v Turkey (Baku)

June Group C: Play-off winner D or A v Netherlands (Amsterdam); Group C: Ukraine v Austria (Bucharest); Group B: Russia v Denmark (Copenhagen); Group B: Finland v Belgium (St Petersburg)

22 June Group D: Czech Republic v England (London); Group D: Croatia v Play-off winner C (Glasgow)

23 June Group E: Play-off winner B v Spain (Bilbao); Group E: Sweden v Poland (Dublin); Group F: Germany v Play-off winner A or D (Munich); Group F: Portugal v France (Budapest)

The top two in each group plus four best third-placed teams go through.