UEFA eEURO 2020 exists and here’s what you need to know

As we all know, the UEFA European Championship tournament or the EURO 2020 was recently postponed and will resume after a year due to the threat of global pandemic, COVID, which is currently crippling European countries. The most glorious 24-team European Championship, which was being held across Europe to mark UEFA’s 60th anniversary, will now take place from June 11 to July 11 in 2021.

The pandemic is currently crippling the sporting world and football is massively hit. Previously, all five of Europe’s top domestic soccer leagues – Premier League (England), La Liga(Spain), Serie A (Italy), Ligue 1 (France) and Bundesliga(Germany) – are halted. Meanwhile, this year’s Copa Américaby the South American Football Federation was also postponed and also due to resume from 11 June to 11 July 2021.

With the current football scene out of sight, eFootball is currently taking over. Interestingly, there is a similar EURO event that is currently ongoing. In fact, eEURO 2020 group stage has concluded recently, with the ten group winners advancing to the final tournament, while the ten group runners-up contest on play-off stage to determine the other six teams to qualify in the finals.

UEFA eEURO 2020, commenced its qualifying draw in January 2020, is the first national team eFootball tournament. This tournament was played by professional Esports gamers, between two and four gamers, that represent their national team through the nomination of each participating National Association.These teams were divided into ten groups.

Over the last four Mondays of March, the group stage took place, with 55 competing countries competed for the first ten eEURO 2020 spot. After the series of matches that concluded over the weekend, Bosnia and Herzegovina, France, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Romania and Serbia are through.

Meanwhile, group runners-up Austria, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, Israel, Kazakhstan, Montenegro, Portugal, Spain, and Turkey will return on May for the last 6 spots in the final tournament that will take place in a live event in London on July 10 and 11 of this year. The price pool is $100,000 in cash that will be split between the quarter-finalists, including $40,000 for the winners.

Konami, the official EURO video game licensing partner, is the company behind the first eEURO tournament. They also announced recently that the UEFA Euro 2020 national team tournament will come to eFootball Pro Evolution Soccer (PES 2020) on April 30, with all the licenses of the tournament giving Konami to give the proper video game experience of the game.

In that update pack, all 55 UEFA national teams will be featured in the DLC, with their latest kits and squads. They’re also adding Wembley Stadium to the game, which is the setting of the Euro 2020 final. Saint Petersburg Stadium has also been recreated for the update to the game. Euro 2020 is still on PlayStation 4, Windows PC and Xbox One