Scotland, Hungary, Slovakia, North Macedonia completes Euro 2020 teams

In an intense action this week, four teams have successfully booked their place in the postponed Euro 2020 following the conclusion of its playoffs, joining the selection of teams already drawn in groups. Scotland, Hungary, Slovakia, North Macedoniacompleted the 24 teams that will clash for the rescheduled European Championships due to take place next year.

Group A consists of Turkey Italy, Wales and Switzerland with their games set to be played in Rome and Baku, with Joachim Low’s side as the top seed. Meanwhile, Group B will see Belgium, Denmark, Finland and Russia all face off in games to played across Copenhagen and Saint Petersburg. Roberto Martinez’s side won all 10 of their games during the qualifiers that put them on top seed.

Austria, Netherlands, and Ukraine will be joined by North Macedonia, who will have their maiden appearance in a major tournament, in Group C with matches to be staged in Amsterdam and Bucharest. North Macedonia captain GoranPandev scored the only goal of the match that gave the Balkan nation a 1-0 win away to Georgia in their historic Euro 2020 qualifying play-off final.

Scotland, who have never reached any major tournament since 1998 World Cup, will join Croatia, Czech Republic, England in Group D, set to played in Glasgow and London following the 5-4 penalty shootout win over Serbia. Ryan Christie struck in the 52rd minute, before Luka Jovic headed in an injury-time equalizer to take the match to extra time. Mitrovic had his spot-kick saved by David Marshall.

In Group F, Poland, Spain and Sweden will be joined by Slovakia in Bilbao and Dublin following Michal Duris’ extra-time goal that helped Slovakia to a 2-1 win against Northern Ireland in a Euro 2020 play-off final in front of 1,000 Northern Ireland fans at Windsor Park. The win takes Slovakia though to their second consecutive Euro finals and prevents Northern Ireland from repeating their feat four years ago.

Finally, defending champions Portugal, World Cup winner France and underdog Germany will be joined by Hungary in Budapest and Munich. Hungary made a dramatic late comeback at the empty Puskas Arena to qualify for the Euro 2020 finals, defeating Iceland who had been two minutes away from sealing their place. Dominik Szoboszlai goal sealed the stunning victory in stoppage time in Budapest.

In March, UEFA announced that their largest European Championship men’s soccer tournament was called off and will resume after a year due to the threat of the coronavirus pandemic. The Euro 2020 will now take place from June 11 to July 11 in 2021. The venues for the said competition to be staged next year confirmed to be the same.