Italy announced 28-man provisional squad for Euro 2020

Italy coach Roberto Mancini announced a provisional 28-men squad for Euro 2020 as part of his preparation for a pre-tournament friendly against the Czech Republic. Paris Saint-Germain striker Moise Kean was the biggest name to be dropped by Mancini, who kept Kean’s PSG teammate Marco Verratti and Inter Milan midfielder Stefano Sensi despite the pair being injured.

Mancini earlier announced a 33-men provisional squad that took on San Marino last week. Veteran Juventus defenders Giorgio Chiellini and Leonardo Bonucci were called up, as well as Jorginho and Emerson Palmieri who are fresh from the Champions League victory with Chelsea. Meanwhile, Strikers Vincenzo Grifo and Giacomo Raspadori have also lost their spots in Italy’s Euro 2020 squad.

Wearing the “Renaissance Kit”, the runners-up in the Euro 2000 and 2012 have qualified for Euro 2020 with a hard-fought 2-0 win over Greece courtesy of Chelsea’s Jorginho Federico Bernardeschi in 2019. The only other occasion Italy wore green came in 1954 in a 2-0 win against Argentina at Rome’s Stadio Olimpico. Italy will play against Turkey, Wales and Switzerland in Group A.

The latest squad, however, is not final as it will need to be scaled down to 26 by midnight of June 1. The Euro league final opening match will be between Turkey and Euro 1968 champions Italy on June 11 at Rome’s Olympic Stadium. Here is Italy’s Euro 2020 26-men squad:

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Donnarumma (Milan), Alex Meret (Napoli), Salvatore Sirigu (Torino)

Defenders: Francesco Acerbi (Lazio), Alessandro Bastoni (Inter), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Giovanni Di Lorenzo (Napoli), Emerson Palmieri (Chelsea), Alessandro Florenzi (Paris), Gianluca Mancini (Roma), Leonardo Spinazzola (Roma), Rafael Toloi (Atalanta)

Midfielders: Nicolo Barella (Inter), Bryan Cristante (Roma), Jorginho (Chelsea), Manuel Locatelli (Sassuolo), Lorenzo Pellegrini (Roma), Matteo Pessina (Atalanta), Stefano Sensi (Inter), Marco Verratti (Paris)

Forwards: Andrea Belotti (Torino), Domenico Berardi (Sassuolo), Federico Bernardeschi (Juventus), Federico Chiesa (Juventus), Ciro Immobile (Lazio), Lorenzo Insigne (Napoli), Matteo Politano (Napoli)

Exciting games and big wins as you visit 12BET where exclusive promotions await for you. 

Visit 12BET login and join us to claim exclusive benefits and more