How teams in Group C booked their spot in the Euro 2020 finals

Group C consists of Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria and North Macedonia with their games set to be played in two Euro 2020 host cities. The most glorious 24-team tournament, which was being held across Europe to mark UEFA’s 60th anniversary, will now take place from June 11 to July 11 in 2021. The tournament’s opening game will see Joachim Low’s side host Turkey in Rome on 12 June.

Initially, Munich, Rome, St Petersburg and Baku will host quarter-finals as well as group-stage clashes, while Copenhagen, Bucharest, Amsterdam, Dublin, Bilbao, Glasgow and Budapest are the other venues, staging group-stage and last-16 encounters. Here’s how teams in Group C booked their spot in the finals and everything you need to know before the EURO 2020 football matches:


Ukraine (Group B winners)

Ukraine won six of their eight qualifiers, only drawing their away matches in Portugal and Serbia, to secure their place. They booked their place in the tournament with victory over Portugal despite Cristiano Ronaldo’s 700th goal. Andriy Shevchenko’s side was a part of six top seeds for the Euro 2020 finals draw, leaving world champions France and holders Portugal unseeded.

Netherlands (Group C runners-up)

Ronald Koeman’s Netherlands ended their self-inflicted exile from major tournament football, having failed to reach Euro 2016 or last year’s World Cup, when a 0-0 draw away to Northern Ireland secured a top-two finish in Group C. They needed just a draw to guarantee a spot at its first international tournament since coming third at the 2014 World Cup.

Austria (Group G runners-up)

David Alaba’s early goal and a snap effort from Stefan Lainer in the second half of the match against North Macedonia ensured Austria’s qualification for Euro 2020. It is a second successive qualification for Austria and will be only their third appearance at the finals, having also been co-hosts in 2008. The 2-1 victory also cemented the second place spot in Group G.

North Macedonia (Play-off winner)

Austria, Netherlands, and Ukraine will be joined by North Macedonia, who will have their maiden appearance in a major tournament, in Group C with matches to be staged in Amsterdam and Bucharest. North Macedonia captain GoranPandev scored the only goal of the match that gave the Balkan nation a 1-0 win away to Georgia in their historic Euro 2020 qualifying play-off final.


Johan Cruyff Arena, Amsterdam (Netherlands)

Previously known as Amsterdam Arena, Johan Cruijff Arena was renamed in 2018 to honour Ajax’s former player and coach, who was born in Amsterdam and passed away in March 2016.The stadium was built from 1993 to 1996 at a cost equivalent to €140 million. The stadium can hold 54,990 people during football matches, while a maximum of 68,000 people during concerts.

Arena Nationala, Bucharest (Romania)

Arena Nationala or The National Arena Bucharest, which opened in 2011, stands on the site of the old National Stadium. The revamped national stadium has 55,634 seats and the largest football stadium in Romania. It hosted the 2012 UEFA Europa League final, where Atlético Madrid beat Bilbao’s Athletic Club 3-0. The stadium is also the home of Liga I football clubs FCSB and Dinamo București.


June 13: Austria vs North Macedonia (Bucharest), Netherlands vs Ukraine (Amsterdam)

June 17: Ukraine vs North Macedonia (Bucharest), Netherlands vs Austria (Amsterdam)

June 21: North Macedonia vs Netherlands (Amsterdam), Ukraine vs Austria (Bucharest)

June 26: 2A vs 2B (Round of 16, Amsterdam)

June 28: 6: 1F vs 3A/B/C (Round of 16, Bucharest)

Exciting games and big wins as you visit 12BET where exclusive promotions await for you.

Visit 12BET login and join us to claim exclusive benefits and more