How every Euro 2020 qualified teams clinched their spot (part 4)

In March, UEFA announced that their largest European Championship men’s soccer tournament was postponed due to coronavirus pandemic. The most glorious 24-team tournament, which was being held across Europe to mark UEFA’s 60th anniversary, will now take place from June 11 to July 11 in 2021. Here is a look back on how every Euro 2020 qualified teams clinched their spot in the tournament:

Austria (Group G runners-up)

David Alaba’s early goal and a snap effort from Stefan Lainer in the second half of the match against North Macedonia ensured Austria’s qualification for Euro 2020. It is a second successive qualification for Austria and will be only their third appearance at the finals, having also been co-hosts in 2008. The 2-1 victory also cemented the second place spot in Group G.

Portugal (Group B runners-up)

The defending European champions Portugal, who won the title in 2016 and followed it up with the inaugural UEFA Nations League crown,  secured their spot when they edged past Luxembourg 2-0 away from home in the final day of qualification last year. Bruno Fernandes scored Sunday’s winner in the 39th minute, followed by a late insurance goal from Cristiano Ronaldo in the 86th.

Switzerland (Group D winners)

Vladimir Petković’s Switzerland qualified for Euro 2020 with an easy 6-1 win away to Gibraltar in their final Group D qualifying match. The Swiss, needed only a draw to qualify, topped the group with 17 points, one ahead of Denmark who also qualified. Cedric Itten put the Swiss ahead after 10 minutes before Ruben Vargas, Christian Fassnacht, Loris Benito, Itten and Granit Xhaka sealed the win.

Denmark (Group D runners-up)

Republic of Ireland were knocked from first place to third in Euro 2020 qualifying group D as Denmark ended the group with 16 points and sealed their qualification. The Euro 1992 winners got there by way of a 1-1 draw with Ireland at the Aviva Stadium, with Martin Braithwaite goal in the 73rd minute that gave the lead for the Danes before Matt Doherty headed home to equalize in the 85th. 

Wales (Group E runners-up)

Needed a win to qualify for back-to-back Euros, Ryan Giggs’ Wales completed the team qualified for the Euro 2020 through the group games. They secured the 2-0 win at the Cardiff City Stadium with two goals from Aaron Ramsey. This will be the second time Wales will be in a major tournament after they reached the semifinals in 2016 in their first major tournament in 58 years.