Finalists for Euro 2020 play-offs named following the semis

The eight playoff semifinals played this week has revealed the teams who still have the chance for Euro 2020 berth. The winners of the playoff finals will complete the teams that will compete in the postponed Euro 2020 next year. The 32-team Euro 2020, in celebration of the governing body’s 60thanniversary, was due to take place between June 12 and July 12 in countries all across the continent.

Hungary and Iceland advanced following the win against Bulgaria and Romania respectively. Northern Ireland won 4-3 on penalties against Bosnia-Herzegovina, while Slovakia won 4-2 on penalties against Republic of Ireland in Path B. In Path C, Scotland won 5-3 on penalties to oust Israel in the contention, while Serbia won 1-2 against Norway. Georgia and North Kosovo in Path D are also through the finals.

Goals from Willi Orban, Zsolt Kalmar and Nemanja Nikolicgave the Hungarians a 3-1 win in Bulgaria , while Everton’smidfielder Gylfi Sigurdsson’s two goals secured a spot in the finals for Iceland. Hungary will host Iceland in their play-off final. Penalty shootouts decided both games in Path B, with Northern Ireland winning one and Ireland losing the other. Northern Ireland will host Slovakia on Nov. 12.

Norway’s talisman Erling Haaland was stunned by Lazio midfielder Sergej Milinković-Savić, who scored twice to lift Serbia into the finals with a 2-1 extra-time, ending Norway’s Euro 2020 qualification berth. Meanwhile, The Scots scored all five penalties in the shootout following 0-0 draw against Israel. Serbia will host Scotland in one of four playoff finals on Nov. 12in Belgrade.

North Macedonia ended world soccer’s newest national team, Kosovo’s quest to reach the European Championship for the first time following the defeat 2-1 in Skopje, with all the goals coming in the first half. Georgia held off Belarus 1-0 after getting a seventh-minute penalty earned and scored by TornikeOkriashvili. North Macedonia next travels to Georgia on Nov. 12.

Four nations will qualify for EURO 2020 while the play-offs will take place on Nov. 12.   The winner will join a Euro 2020 group with the Netherlands, Ukraine and Austria. Games will be played in Amsterdam and Bucharest. Euro 2020, originally scheduled for June 12-July 12, was pushed back 12 months because of the Covid-19 pandemic and is now due to be held from June 11-July 11 next year.