Every European Championship winning captains

In most occasion, finals hero were the ones savouring the limelight in every football match. Meanwhile, The person led them took the credit of bringing the team into a powerhouse one. Some of the most memorable wins in the Euro history was led by some of the most known captains in football. Here are every winning captain that led their teams through the finals of every European Championship:

Euro 1960: Igor Netto (Soviet Union)

In 1956, Igor Netto led the USSR at the 1956 Melbourne Olympics. Four years later, the first ever European Championship, formerly known as the European Nations’ Cup, Netto returned to the captaincy and won the inaugural titlebeating Yugoslavia 2-1 in extra-time thanks to a 113th-minute goal from Victor Ponedelnik at the Parc des Prince.

Netto is considered one of the greatest Soviet players ever. After retiring in 1966 he had a long, though unsuccessful career as a coach, training AC Omonia, FC ShinnikYaroslavl, Iran, Panionios and Neftchi Baku. He died and 1999 and is still remembered and often honoured by both Spartak and Russian fans. The stadium of Spartak Moscow reserves team is named after him.

EURO 1964: Ferran Olivella (Spain)

Having only 18 caps for Spain, Barcelona legend Ferran Olivellaled the inaugural title of Spain at the 1964 EURO on home soil. The 17-team tournament did not feature the likes of England, West Germany and Italy and battled by the Soviet Union against Spain. Jesus Maria Pereda scored in both the semi-final against Hungary and the final against the Soviet Union for Spain.

Olivella spent his entire career with Barça, making 513 competitive appearances for the club from 1956 to 1969. He arrived as a young player who stood out in the 1955/56 season. The Club paid tribute to him at Camp Nou on September 6, 1969. Years later, between 1989 and 1993, he was on the board of directors with Josep Lluis Nuñez.

EURO 1968: Giacinto Facchetti (Italy)

One of the most controversial moments in the history of Euro happened in 1968. Aside from officially calling the tournament “European Championship”, formerly “European Nations’ Cup”, the fairest way to declare a winner through a toss coin happened for the first and only time in history of Euro. It was Italy against the Soviet Union in the semifinals of Euro 1968.

Giacinto Facchetti and his opposite number Albert Shesternevaccompanied by the referee and two administrators from the two countries to proceed on the coin toss. At international level, Facchetti represented the Azurri on 94 occasions. Facchetti is remembered as one of the first truly great attacking full-backs, and placed second in the Ballon d’Or in 1965.