Every European Championship finals (part 2)

The European Championships is one of the, if not the most celebrated and the most glorious football events in Europe. It produces some of the most iconic images and greatest football players of all time. From the time it was inaugurated, the action already begun and the rest is history. Here are every final in the European Championship:

EURO 1988: Netherlands v Soviet Union

In the 1988 final, it was the Republic of Ireland who gave the most surprises as they took on USSR. Marco van Basten hit an astonishing top-spin volley over the head of the best goalkeeper in Europe. It became one of the best goals scored in a Euros final and the greatest single strike in any top-level final that also secured the Netherlands’ first ever major title. Final score: Netherlands 2-0 Soviet Union.

EURO 1992: Denmark v Germany

In 1992, the format of the game allows winners of the seven groups to join the hosts in the tournament. Denmark had missed out on qualification, however, Yugoslavia, in a state of civil war, was banned from participating in the tournament. It gave the Danes the chance to qualify and they shocked the football world by beating the unified Germany lifting their maiden trophy.Final score: Denmark 2-0 Germany.

EURO 1996: Germany v Czech Republic 

For the first time, the Euros was held with 16 instead of eight teams in 1996. From the 16 finalists, it was Germany and Czech Republic who made it to the final round of European Championships in Wembley. In the finals, Oliver Bierhoffscored the first golden goal in history, a method used during the extra time to determine the winner of the match. Final score: Germany 2-1 Czech Republic.

EURO 2000: France v Italy

The finals of Euro 2000 were co-hosted (the first time this happened) by Belgium and the Netherlands. France followed up their 1998 World Cup win to become World and European champions. David Trezeguet won it with another golden goal. Zinedine Zidane was Player of the Tournament as Patrick Kluivert and Savo Milosevic shared the Golden Boot. Final score: France 2-1 Italy.

EURO 2004: Greece v Portugal

One of the glorious moments in the European Championship history is the win of Greece for the first time since 1980, the nation’s maiden appearance in the tournament In 2004, the moment Greek sport was waiting happened as their national team became champions of Europe for the first time by beating in the final round, the hosts, Portugal. Final score: Greece 1-0 Portugal.

EURO 2008: Spain v Germany

Spain ended their trophy drought in the 2008 edition of the tournament as they took on Germany in the finals. Spain became only the second nation to win all their group stage fixtures and then the European Championship itself – an accomplishment matched by France in 1984. In a thrilling final match in Vienna, Fernando Torres scored the only goal to win the final 1-0. Final score: Spain 1-0 Germany.

EURO 2012: Spain v Italy 

The 2012 edition of the European Championship saw Spain, who had won Euro 2008, successfully defended their title with a heavy win over Italy, becoming the first team to win two consecutive European Championships. Their 4-0 win is the biggest ever win in the final of the European Championship.Final score: Spain 4-0 Italy.

EURO 2016: Portugal v France 

For the first time, the European Championship final tournament was contested by 24 teams, having been expanded from the 16-team format used since 1996. Portugal won their maided trophy, following an extra time victory over the host team, France, in the final played at the Stade de France. They are the current champions of the tournament to defend their title next year. Final score: Portugal 1-0 France.