Euro 2020 venues to keep the same schedule according to UEFA

The European Championship governing body, UEFA remains in contact with the twelve venues it had chosen to host Euro 2020 this summer to make sure that it will be possible to play in those cities with the same schedule following the postponement of the tournament for national teams due to the coronavirus. Thevenues for the said competition to be staged next year confirmed to be the same.

“UEFA is in contact with all these twelve cities on this matter and will make the corresponding announcements in due course. Euro 2020 will take place between June 11 and July 11, 2021 with the intention of having the same calendar and the same venues,” the governing body expressed to the agency “DPA”.

In 2014, UEFA have allocated fixtures in 13 cities across Europe. However, Brussels later withdrawn their staging participation when a stadium construction lacked support from local authorities. The four games in Brussels were allocated to Wembley Stadium in London. Held every four years, Euro is considered the most popular football tournament next to the World Cup in terms of international prestige.

The matches of the 2020 Euro Cup were initially scheduled to be held at stadiums in 12 different cities across Europe, namely in London (England), Munich (Germany), Rome (Italy), Baku (Azerbaijan), St. Petersburg (Russia), Bucharest (Romania), Amsterdam (The Netherlands), Dublin (Ireland), Bilbao (Spain), Budapest (Hungary), Glasgow (Scotland) and Copenhagen (Denmark).

“The plan is to have the same venues, the same cities, the same stadiums,” UEFA president, Aleksander Ceferin said. “But if anything gets complicated, then we can as well do it with 11, then nine or less stadiums. But the plan is that everything stays the same.” The venue for the finals will still be in Wembley as confirmed by FA chief executive Mark Bullingham.

The governing body also said the postponement “will help all domestic competitions, currently on hold due to the COVID-19 emergency, to be completed”, highlighting their commitment to finish club seasons by June 30. As of now, twenty of the 24 nations have already booked their place in the Euro, but playoffs to determine the final four participants, originally scheduled this month, have been postponed. 

Despite being the worst-hit country – Italy and Spain – in Rome and Bilbao remained committed in hosting the games. Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) are confident Bilbao will be able to host the four games it is scheduled to with RFEF spokesperson Pablo Garcia Cuervo told a news agency, “It is no problem for us to play in Bilbao in 2021.”

“We think next year people will be able to go into the stadiums like they did two months ago. Next year we think will be better and we will be able to play the matches in Bilbao. Of course, to play this year would have been impossible but next year, it is not a problem or any trouble. I don’t think Rome would have any problems either, and Bilbao is the same,” Garcia added.

Rome, on the other hand, also confirmed its inclusion as a host next year despite its postponement amid the coronavirus pandemic. A spokesman confirmed that Rome’s Stadio Olimpicoshould still hold the opening fixture of the European Championship. Italy are set to play all their group games at the Stadio Olimpico in Rome, including the tournament’s opening fixture against Turkey.

Last month, UEFA announced that their largest European Championship men’s soccer tournament was called off and will resume after a year due to the threat of global pandemic, COVID, which is currently crippling European countries. The EURO 2020 will now take place from June 11 to July 11 in 2021. This move also helps domestic leagues complete their season according to the body.