Euro 2020 ticket holders to recieve full refund for a limited time only

Football fans who bought tickets for Euro 2020 games will now have a chance to get a full refund if they decide not to attend the tournament at their preferred venue. However, ticket holders have only 12 days to apply for a refund or lose their money if in case fixtures be moved amid growing doubts over thetournament’s multi-city format due to the COVID-19 situation across Europe.

The Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) have updated their ticketing terms and conditions earlier this week, with ticket holders being notified that no refunds will be issued for ticket holders who are unable to attend fixtures that are moved to different stadiums that have capacity for supporters. Instead, supporters have until January 26 to apply for a refund.

Fans are guaranteed a refund until on or before January 26 only. “In the event of the postponement of the match before kick-off for a reason of Force Majeure, the ticket will be valid for therearranged playing of the match. The applicant will not be entitled to a refund of the tickets if they are unable to attend the rearranged playing of the match,” the UEFA ticket refund policy states.

Force Majeure has been defined as “any event affecting Euro 2020 arising from or attributable to acts, events, omissions or accidents which are beyond the reasonable control of UEFA and/or the relevant host association” and includes fixtures being moved as a result of a pandemic. If ticket holders fail to apply for a refund on the said deadline, UEFA will consider it void.

However, if the fixtures will be cancelled, played behind closed doors, or moved to a different venue where the ticket is not valid due to capacity restrictions, new terms will be released by the governing body.  At the time of writing, UEFA is yet to confirm its plans regarding its most glorious tournament, which will commence June 11, with the final round to be held at WembleyStadium.

The matches of the Euro 2020 were initially scheduled to be held at stadiums in 12 different cities across Europe, namely in London (England), Munich (Germany), Rome (Italy), Baku (Azerbaijan), St. Petersburg (Russia), Bucharest (Romania), Amsterdam (The Netherlands), Dublin (Ireland), Bilbao (Spain), Budapest (Hungary), Glasgow (Scotland) and Copenhagen (Denmark).

Earlier, UEFA reaffirms commitment in staging the 2020 editionof European Championship, brainchild of former UEFA president Michel Platini, as planned. “UEFA intends to hold EURO 2020 in the format and the venues confirmed earlier last year and we are working closely with all host cities on preparations,” the governing body said in a statement in December.

The host cities have been asked to come up with two to three plans out of those options and it is possible different approaches will be taken in each venue. “A decision on which scenario will be applied individually in each city during the tournament will be made on 5 March, 2021,” UEFA said in a statement. The rescheduled Euro 2020 will take place from June 11 to July 11 in 2021.