Belgium announced 26-man squad for Euro 2020

Earlier this week, the world’s top ranked side Belgium have announced their 26-man squad for this summer’s UEFA Euro 2020. The squad is full of star names from top European clubs, with Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Romelu Lukaku (Inter Milan) and Hazard (Real Madrid) among them, while former Tottenham and Arsenal centre-backs Jan Vertonghen and Thomas Vermaelen are also included.

There are nine players from the Premier League in the squad, with De Bruyne joined by Leicester City’s Youri Tielemans, Dennis Praet and Timothy Castagne, as well as Crystal Palace duo Michy Batshuayi and Christian Benteke. Real Sociedad’s Adnan Januzaj and Liverpool’s Divock Origi the most notable names to miss the cut of Martinez’ squad. Martinez has also selected 11 reserve players in case of injuries.

Roberto Martinez’ Belgium became the first side to confirm their qualification for Euro 2020 after thrashing San Marino 9-0 in Brussels in 2019. Romelu Lukaku took his record international tally past 50 goals as Belgium opened up an unassailable 11-point lead over third-placed Cyprus. Their victory at the King Badouin Stadium matched their record winning margin of nine goals in 1994 and 2017 respectively.

Belgium have not lost a single game since October 2020, when they were beaten 2-1 by England in the Nations League. In their Nations League campaign, Belgium secured a spot in the final four after thrashing Denmark 4-2. Their latest demolition was with Belarus, scoring 8 goals without conceding in World Cup qualifying on March 30.

They also beat Wales and drew with the Czech Republic in an international friendly. Belgium start their campaign with a match against Russia on June 12 in Saint Petersburg. Here is Belgium’s Euro 2020 26-men squad:

Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid), Simon Mignolet (Club Brugge), Matz Sels (Strasbourg).

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham), Dedryck Boyata (Hertha Berlin), Jason Denayer (Lyon), Thomas Vermaelen (Vissel Kobe), Jan Vertonghen (Benfica).

Midfielders: Yannick Carrasco (Atletico Madrid), Timothy Castagne (Leicester), Nacer Chadli (Istanbul Basaksehir), Thorgan Hazard (Borussia Dortmund), Thomas Meunier (Borussia Dortmund), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Leander Dendoncker (Wolves), Dennis Praet (Leicester), Youri Tielemans (Leicester), Hans Vanaken (Club Brugge), Axel Witsel (Borussia Dortmund).

Attackers: Jeremy Doku (Rennes), Eden Hazard (Real Madrid), Dries Mertens (Napoli), Leandro Trossard (Brighton), Michy Batshuayi (Crystal Palace), Christian Benteke (Crystal Palace), Romelu Lukaku (Inter Milan).

Reserves: Thomas Kaminski (Blackburn), Alexis Saelemaekers (AC Milan), Albert Sambi Lokonga (Anderlecht), Bryan Heynen (Genk), Thomas Foket (Reims), Adnan Januzaj (Real Sociedad), Brandon Mechele (Brugge), Jordan Lukaku (Antwerp), Zino Vanheusden (Standard Liege), Yari Verschaeren (Anderlecht) and Charles De Ketelaere (Brugge).

Exciting games and big wins as you visit 12BET where exclusive promotions await for you.

Visit 12BET login and join us to claim exclusive benefits and more.