All you need to know about Euro 2020 Group E matches

Group E consists of Spain, Sweden, Poland, Slovakia with their games set to be played in two Euro 2020 host cities. The most glorious 24-team tournament, which was being held across Europe to mark UEFA’s 60th anniversary, will now take place from June 11 to July 11 in 2021. The tournament’s opening game will see Joachim Low’s side host Turkey in Rome on 12 June.

Initially, Munich, Rome, St Petersburg and Baku will host quarter-finals as well as group-stage clashes, while Copenhagen, Bucharest, Amsterdam, Dublin, Bilbao, Glasgow and Budapest are the other venues, staging group-stage and last-16 encounters. Here’s how teams in Group E booked their spot in the finals and everything you need to know before the Euro 2020 football matches.


Poland (Group G winners)

Jerzy Brzęczek’s Poland faced off against North Macedonia and won 2-0 courtesy of goals from substitutes PrzemyslawFrankowski and Arkadiusz Milik, both set up by Bayern star Robert Lewandowski to clinch their spot in the tournament. Poland finished finished on top of Group G with 25 points. They have never qualified for the Euro finals until 2008, it will be their fourth appearance in a row.

Spain (Group F winners)

Luis Enrique’s Spain, who needed just a draw to qualify, had an injury-time goal from Rodrigo to draw 1-1 with Sweden in Stockholm and book their place at Euro 2020. Spain, who also won the competition in 1964 and the first nation to have won consecutive titles in 2008 and 2012, wrapped up their qualification on top of the Group F table in the expense of De Gea’s injury.

Sweden (Group F runners-up)

Sweden sealed a place in the Euro 2020 finals after goals from Marcus Berg and Robin Quaison secured them a 2-0 win over Romania. The game was stopped briefly by the referee following racist chants by Romanian fans.They finished second spot in Group F with 18 points behind Spain. Next summer will be the Swedes’ sixth successive appearance in the tournament.

Slovakia (Play-off winner)

Poland, Spain and Sweden will be joined by Slovakia in Bilbao and Dublin following Michal Duris’ extra-time goal that helped Slovakia to a 2-1 win against Northern Ireland in a Euro 2020 play-off final in front of 1,000 Northern Ireland fans at Windsor Park. The win takes Slovakia though to their second consecutive Euro finals and prevents Northern Ireland from repeating their feat four years ago.


San Mamés, Bilbao (Spain)

Bibao is the the tenth-biggest city in Spain, and the largest in the Basque region that offers rich culture and arts. San Mamésstadium was inaugurated in 2013 and currently the home of La Liga side, Athletic Bilbao. It was once used as a makeshift venue for the 2015 Copa del Rey Final for fans who could not attend the game in Barcelona.

Aviva Stadium, Dublin (Ireland)

With an all-seated capacity of more than 50,000, the Dublin Arena has been home to the Republic of Ireland’s football and rugby union teams since opening in 2010. It held the all-Portuguese 2011 UEFA Europa League final, Radamel Falcaogetting Porto’s winner against Braga. Earlier, the Irish government has reiterated its desire to stage part of the tournament after the event was rescheduled.


June 14: Poland vs Slovakia (Dublin), Spain vs Sweden (Bilbao)

June 18: Sweden vs Slovakia (Dublin)

June 19: Spain vs Poland (Bilbao)

June 23: Slovakia vs Spain (Bilbao), Sweden vs Poland (Dublin)

June 27: 1B vs 3A/D/E/F (Round of 16, Bilbao)

June 29: 1D vs 2F (Round of 16, Dublin)

Exciting games and big wins as you visit 12BET where exclusive promotions await for you.

Visit 12BET login and join us to claim exclusive benefits and more